Jun 05 2008
FireFox Warns About MSN Phishing Sites
FireFox now displays a warning (see picture on the left, click to see large image) when you are tricked to click on some of the ‘Pics for MSN Friends’ phishing site URLs created by the so-called ‘TST Management Inc.’
At the time of writing, a new URL emerged and, according to the ‘official’ phishing site’s server status report, “c0mpics.info” is now the most active site that’s hoaxing not only MSN users, but ICQ users.
When you visit the phishing site (never do it!), a window pops up displaying content from ‘awesomeoffers.info’ (see picture below, click to display large image) saying, ‘We’re sorry! This offer is not available in your area. You will
be redirected shortly. If you are not automatically redirectly, please click here.’ Then you are served ads from various sources.
Thanks to our fellow netizens, sites such as jumphost.info, ther1ng.info, etc. were alerted as potential phishing sites by FireFox. But if you are using IE or Safari, the chances are you won’t see these warnings.
Personally I think MSN and ICQ should do their fair share of work and warn their users never trust any offline messages containing such links. That will be the most effective and proactive way to deal with these bad guys. However, each one of us who knows about the phishing attempt can also lend a helping hand by telling our MSN/ICQ or other IM buddies about this and report any such sites through FireFox or IE.
Here’s how:
FireFox:
When you are on that site, click on ‘Help’ -> ‘Report Web Forgery.’
French version, click on ‘?’ -> ‘Signaler un site contrefait…’
IE:
When you are on that site, right-click this icon
on bottom status bar.
*UPDATE*
Good news. As on June 6, all phishing sites from the so-called ‘TST Management Inc.’ have been down. But I am not sure if they are simply banned by the ISP in Hong Kong and are in the process of finding other server locations. If you find any further information, please let me know. Thanks.
*UPDATE-1*
The phishing sites are back on again. A new one to watch:
“freakpics.info”
![[Bloglines]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/bloglines.png)
![[del.icio.us]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/delicious.png)
![[Digg]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/digg.png)
![[Facebook]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/facebook.png)
![[Furl]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/furl.png)
![[Google]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/google.png)
![[Ma.gnolia]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/magnolia.png)
![[MySpace]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/myspace.png)
![[Newsvine]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/newsvine.png)
![[Reddit]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/reddit.png)
![[Sphere]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/sphere.png)
![[StumbleUpon]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/stumbleupon.png)
![[Technorati]](http://www.yeasir.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/technorati.png)






